Home

My_booksMy Books

Discover how Pulitzer Prize winning columnists convey a powerful message or opinion in 500 words or less. Discover the insider secrets to writing different types of columns - humor, opinion, lifestyle, fashion, religion, investigative, and more. The skills apply to all genres of writing.  Available on Amazon.

Workshop-300x211Workshop/Speaker

Suzette speaks at national conferences and universities on a variety of writing topics, and gets high marks from attendees for her animated and engaging style. She is an award winning member of Toastmasters and a member of the National Speakers Association. Find out what she can do for your group. Email her at suzmar@comcast.net

blog-300x211Columns

Let's take a moment together. Since 2008 I write spirituality columns for The Patriot Ledger and was syndicated nationally through Gannett until 2021.  Since 2022, I now write The Bright Side column for The Patriot Ledger.


 

The Art of Opinion Writing won a First Place at the 2014 New England Book Festival, and both books are used in university journalism courses, such as Johns Hopkins University.


 

My Latest Column

Clive Wan has Asperger Syndrome and for those on the autism spectrum, social interaction can - Read More

Follow

Join my Email List!

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Suzette’s 2022 Calendar Appearances, Workshops and Events

Draft2Digital Podcast – Nov. 10, 2022 1 p.m. EST

Featured guest Suzette Standring talks about using self-hypnosis to unlock writing creativity for Draft2Digital's show, Self-Publishing Insiders. Draft2Digital merged with Smashwords to create one of the biggest and author-beneficial self-publishing companies.

Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/events/416386140707233

YouTube:
https://youtu.be/7x74XII8N-w

School of American Thanatology – ZOOM Writing Classes

 

The School of American Thanatology
Death & Spirituality - Class series, Fall 2022
October 4-November 15, 2022, Tuesday evenings on Zoom
7:00 - 9:00 p.m. EASTERN TIME
The School of American Thanatology is about navigating the process of death, dying, loss, grief and healing.
Don't be alarmed! Suzette will lead a writing workshop on creative writing designed to spark insight, deeper conversations, and self-revelation to those compassionate people who want to help others navigate the dying process. Practical writing advice, as well as guided meditation and writing exercises.

Class Information and Registration Here

 

 

 

FREE Writing Space Zoom – Wednesdays & Sundays

Founded by Suzette for the National Society of Newspaper Columnists
Come to our Wednesday and Sunday “NSNC Writing Space” where friends get together, write quietly and get our projects done!

Every Wednesday is a recurring Zoom meeting:
Meeting ID: 964 7713 8466
Passcode: 861637

Pacific Time:   7:00 a.m. to 9;00 a.m. (PDT)
Mountain Time: 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. (MT)
Central Time:  9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. (CT)
Eastern Time: 10:00 a.m. to 12 noon (EDT)

Every Sunday is a recurring Zoom meeting:
Meeting ID: 958 8989 6420
Passcode: 940130

Pacific Time:   1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. (PDT)
Mountain Time: 2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. (MT)
Central Time:  3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. (CT)
Eastern Time: 4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. (EDT) 

 

Stanford University Continuing Studies – Zoom Class

Monday October 24, 2022, 9:30 p.m. EASTERN TIME
Opinion Writing
Suzette will speak about creating memorable lead paragraphs and endings in opinion writing, as well as the subconscious use of words on a reader. She will lead a guided imagery exercise so attendees can experience how relaxation can lead to surprising insights into one's topic and writing process.

Toastmasters Meeting Invites All – Monday Nights

Suzette is the 2022 president of the Toastmasters Quincy 675 Club. If you want to improve your speaking ability for any reason calling for you to open your mouth in public, then you'll find warm support with us. Every Monday night, 7:15 - 9 p.m. EASTERN time. In-person meetings at Quincy College, Third Floor, 1250 Hancock Street, Quincy, MA. Walk-ins welcome. Also you can join by Zoom but you must contact the club to get the Zoom link.